Benchmark Round Two!

In recent light of my project, I would have to say I would not have thought that this class would have been as free as it is.  I have been able to explore topics that I want, and get my ideas out there.  My most recent accomplishment that I was ecstatic about was when Vicky Davis, a huge tweeter, blogger, and educated professional on technology in the classroom, tweeter my project for her almost 18,000 followers to see.  I was so excited. Her blogs are so insightful and she really knows her stuff.  Getting the stuff I have been working on in this class out there so that others beyond the walls of our classroom can see them is something I never imagined or expected.
I think that my strengths in this class are my curiosity to go out and see what I can find.  I would also say that, whether something good or bad, I get addicted to media once I find a string of related material.  Sometimes I feel like I have to give my poor lap top a break because I fear it will overheat.  To get a deeper understanding beyond the course, I have been looking at blogs from people outside of our VLE and seeing their views on the topic.  I think I could do more of this.  I mean, all it took was one blog comment to get my project tweeted about.
My work so far on my project now just needs depth.  I have a base to work off of, but I am still a little hesitant in exactly what will add “depth.”  I feel like for this project to have true depth requires time.  Getting information out there for people to see is easier in theory than practice.  This is just the beginning.
I really enjoy reading what is relevant to my future.  If I can find something on teaching adolescents or English, it definitely has my attention.  I absolutely love reading or finding material that is relevant to my project.  When I came across ELEV8D, I was so fascinated.  It was like my project, except with video.  I am considering making a video about my project to post there to get more viewers on my project.

I think I need help with getting my stuff out there.  I am not sure really where to go with it from now.  I kind of want to get more material specific to teaching high school English and using technology.  This is something I may start looking into.  I have started looking into blogs outside of our course, but I want to find time to explore this area more.
About heyamoose12

I am a Secondary Education major with a focus in English. I swim for the University of Maine and love to sketch and write on the side. I am a huge movie fan and love to go out with friends!
This entry was posted in edt400reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Benchmark Round Two!

  1. Your work has been inspiring, heartfelt and networked, Linda. Thank you for your reflection, learning and insight in our VLC and course meetings. I look forward to the rest of the term with you as a member of our community. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

