When Students get Clever and Teach

“As a teacher, I constantly ask myself: How can I better engage my students and enrich their experience? How can I make their learning more meaningful? Working with a community of learners is helping me find answers to those questions” (2011).

 

For all of those out there wondering, there are videos on Youtube created by students that may answer Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach question above. What do students want?

Not only did I find this video very clever, but some of the things that the students had to say was meaningful.  How many young people that are graduating today from college can’t find a job?  How many people do you know that have lost their job?  The sign that stood out most to me was the one when the young man opened his locker.  “Someone to believe in us.”  How many times have you had a class where the teacher just did not care.

 

“Change takes time.” I don’t say that anymore. Look around you. Change is happening at exponential rates. The challenge for educators is to adapt to the rapid pace of change—indeed, to become leaders of change—before we as an institution find ourselves irrelevant in the lives of the students we seek to help”(2011).

 

The next video that I found was done by a group of students at Clark College.  They as well had something to say.  What stands out to you?

After watching this video, things that stood out to me were:

I send 6,930 text per month.

I visit 22.5 webpges a day.

Less than 40% of the reading I complete is relevant to my life.

I will write 30 pages for this class in a term.  I will never look at it again.   All the writing ends up in the trash or recycle.  What a waste.

80% of my teachers know me by name.

 

As far as computers being integrated into the classroom as a tool, it is a change that is taking its sweet time.  Change creates a fear and panic for some people.  The computer is a tool that has been given to our students.  We accepted the idea of the wheel so when can we get rolling with computers?

About heyamoose12

I am a Secondary Education major with a focus in English. I swim for the University of Maine and love to sketch and write on the side. I am a huge movie fan and love to go out with friends!
This entry was posted in #edt400. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Students get Clever and Teach

  1. lucycn8 says:

    Linda, both of those videos were very interesting to watch! I love hearing what fellow students have to say about the system, because it is a great way to prepare in becoming a teacher. Therefore, I will know first hand exactly what the students would like to see/feel/learn in the classroom. I agree with you when you said in the first video the locker that read, “Someone to believe in us” stood out the most. I’ve always believed that to be true, that we need teachers who will do anything to see their students succeed. Installing confidence in our students is one of the best ways we can help them grow. The teachers that do not do simple things like such are the ones that will eventually be replaced by technology. Great post and excellent videos!

Leave a Reply

