What Can You Bench? Set Your Mark

So far in this course, I have been provided the opportunity to see how computers can be applied to learning.  It is about more than just using a computer for typing though, it is about the programs and internet sources that are available to teachers and students out there.  As this course has developed, I started my first blog page.  Before this class, I had never had a desire to blog.  I did not understand the purpose.  Now, I can see the possibilities and how it can link me to others.  Facebook had been my main source of social learning community, but my new twitter is slowly growing on me.  Twitter poses interesting possibilities for teaching in the future.

Having a blog has allowed me to do a couple of things.  First off, if you dare, click this!  I have learned how to take my blog readers to any place I want.  It allows me to connect websites that are related to the topic I am discussing.  Blog pages also allow me to use my artistic side and place specific images in desired spots to create an aesthetically pleasing appearance of my page.  I love it! I am a visual learner…helLLLlloo blog! I can see what I need to and lay it out to fit my learning.  It allows me or organize my material how I want to.  It works!

My strengths in this course are a quick ability to link materials together.  I am a fast responder to materials and quick at typing (hence the future English teacher).  Posting a blog is something that comes at ease for me.  If something grabs my attention, I will work at it until it is done.  I like to explore a topic as soon as I am interested.  This comes in phases.  A weakness would be I am nervous with technology that I am not used to.  Once I have played around with it I am fine, but I need to make sure I have plenty of time so that I do not stress myself out.  I also sometimes cannot find myself reading the materials that are assigned.  If it does not grab my attention in someway, I won’t read it.

My strengths in my writing would have to be my way that I organize and express my ideas.  I am a creative person with a sense of humor and that can come through in my writing.  I know that I need to work on clarity sometimes and minor grammar issues.  I am not a proof reader, as horrible as that sounds.  I know what impacts my grades sometimes.  I would like to think of it as a “raw look” and what happens in my mind.  Aside from that, I am rather confident in my writing.

I have really enjoyed tasks that have inspired me to go out and look for similar materials.  The main one would be the one that is creating my final project.  It has to do with using images and messages.  When I saw videos like that posted for readings, I went out and found similar ones related to share with the class.  I prefer readings and Youtube videos that are shorter.  I don’t think it is because I am lazy, but I think it has more to do with time constraints.  Also, if a video that is more than 10 minutes, I better be engaged for at least 8 minutes of that.  I like material that is to the point.  I don’t want to dance around the issue.

It is images like this that stand out.

It is these images that carry the most meaning.

I have started to work on my final project for the year which has allowed me to get input from students, sophomores in high school to juniors in college.  It all started of Facebook, but has grown dramatically.  I have friends posting on friends posting on friends to get images to me.  Everyone can see these images so people are getting involved.  I currently have about 70 photos dealing with the envision of schools tomorrow.  This cool thing about this project is it comes from the view of students.  It comes from the view of future teachers.

This class is teaching me about new ways to connect.  These connections that involve the use of technology is something that I can see positive and negative views on.  The key thing in considering a revolution like this is that change is something people can be resistant to.  This is not the penny that you get back for a 99 cent purchase.  This is the change that is going to impact our future jobs and the future education on our children.  Whoever is making the change better know how to do their math.

About heyamoose12

I am a Secondary Education major with a focus in English. I swim for the University of Maine and love to sketch and write on the side. I am a huge movie fan and love to go out with friends!
This entry was posted in #edt400, edt400reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Can You Bench? Set Your Mark

  1. Thank you so much for this thoughtful reflection! You are operationalizing the variables of this course in so many ways…..More in assessment to ePortfolio!

Leave a Reply

