Going The Distance

 

Going the Distance: Because Thats it What it Takes for 21st Century Learners.

How far should we go, as educators, to support non-formal and informal learning? How do we deal with the fact that we are part of a formal system when we know that a heck of a lot of learning (many say, most) happens outside of our formal learning systems? Where do we fit into this? Or in summary, the key question to consider is “what is our role in non-formal learning? (#edt400)”

 

Learning takes place in and out of the classroom.  Sometimes, though I bet it will be highly debated by some, I believe that is learned outside the classroom is much more important.  But in order for this kind of learning to take place, I believe that students need a foundation, a strong center, to branch learning off of.  Students need to build upon ideas given to them in the classroom

Let’s say, since I am teaching English, that students are asked to read one of those “classics” that teach morals and important ideas.  The students are not going to care if they cannot relate it to themselves in some way.  This is most important when dealing with the age group of adolescents who are most concerned with discovering who they are, or this idea of self-discovery.  What if the lesson that they learned in the classroom was designed to make them think outside of the classroom. What if there was a single idea, a foundation, that students could build off of and take outside the classroom?

So what is our role in non formal learning?  School serves the purpose currently of three things.  The first is a place of learning.  The second, as some see it unfortunately, a babysitter for their kids.  The final one is a environment for learning social skills.  There are some social stills and models of morals that students cannot learn from any text book, even though it may be implied.  As teachers, we never force ideas or concepts on our students, but we can surly open the door for ideas and places for exploration.  Everything that students can learn that is not from a text book or lecture is non formal learning, and it may be the most powerful learning there is.

How many of you were on Student Council?  It was not until after I graduated that I realized what student council did for me.  (I am a sophomore in high school in this picture with my best friend Emily) It was the non formal learning about leadership skills such as communication, teamwork, team building, and time management that I gained the most from.  It taught me skills that a book never could.  There was always themes, “Got Integrity,” “Dare to Soar,” etc… and as many tee shirts and photos with my best friends that I have from these conferences, it is the skills from them that I apply to my everyday life I consider the most valuable “non formal” learning I got from high school.

So how does that impact me today?  These are three kids that I have mentored since I was a senior in high school.  And even after graduation,  we have remained close.  (Aka they call me mom and constantly call me) All three are on Student Council, all three have plans on making a difference in the community after high school, and all three have taught me so much about what it means to impact the lives of others.  When I got a letter from one of them, it had a foot print in it.  At a conference, he was given three footprints to give out to people that had “left a footprint on his life.”  I was one of them.

 

That is what teaching is about to me.  Making that impact not only in the classroom with material that my students need to know, but with life lessons they can take outside of the classroom.  I carry that foot print with me everywhere that I go. This is my advisor (Linda too! which made me Lil’ Lindy) who taught me that “non-formal” learning, that information that no book could. I want to be in education, but I intend to do it right.

About heyamoose12

I am a Secondary Education major with a focus in English. I swim for the University of Maine and love to sketch and write on the side. I am a huge movie fan and love to go out with friends!
This entry was posted in #edt400. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going The Distance

  1. jennasem says:

    Linda, I really enjoyed reading this post. I was kind of confused on what it was we were supposed to write about, and by you doing this it really cleared things up. I can really relate to you and your “informal learning” because I too was a part of student council. Through this I learned everything you mention in your post and more. It was a great out of classroom learning experience, as well as the other organizations are a part of. Sometimes even being on a sports team is an excellent learning environment for children, and from your post I have the confidence to explain and explore my thoughts and ideas in my own post about informal learning environments.

  2. jessikkaax3 says:

    I agree with this post because it is about informal learning from actual society and community, not online communities and blogs and media. Much of what we learn comes from outside experiences, and I can think of many more positive things that I have learned that way, than from online experiences where my Facebook “newsfeed” informs me of drama/gossip/bullsh*t that doesn’t advance or aid me in any way.

  3. heyamoose12 says:

    Jenna, I did not even think of sports teams as informal learning. I think that sometimes people who are so used to being in situations on informal learning such as sports teams, almost take it for granted and do not realize the opportunities it has! In high school I heard “Get Involved” so much it was almost annoying because I already was. We were always trying to get other kids involved, especially in Students Council, and it was hard. I think this ties back into the idea of how motivation is important in learning. Should getting involved start younger than high school? Why was I not being told IN SCHOOL to get involved like I was in high school. I still did things outside of school, dance and swim, but these extra curricular for informal learning were not directly forming from my school. 🙂

    Jessi, I agree that Facebook does not help in getting anything out there aside from who is dating who, but I have started asking friends for help and opinions on education and you WOULD NOT BELIEVE the responses people gave me. But people could see peoples responses and slowly it is taking off. Facebook can be used when people have something responsible to say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

