Engage Me! I am falling asleep at my desk…

Before you do anything more in your education classes, I would recommend watching this video that I found on Youtube.

It does not matter what subject, state, or grade you intend on teaching.  This video does something that I was blown alway by.

It shows students, k-12 all asking us, their future teachers, to do one simple thing for them; to engage them.

The vision for these students is that they “will use engaging technologies in collaborative, inquiry-based learning environments with teachers who are willing and able to use technology’s power to assist them in transforming knowledge and skills into products, solutions, and new information” (Nesbitt).

 

Some of the strongest signs that students were holding up?

 

“I am a 21st century learner.”

“76% of my teachers have never used wikis, blogs, podcasts.”

 

“What are we learning by sitting here?”

“By 2016, the largest English speaking country will be China.”

“What kind of education would you want me to have?”

 

 

After watching looking at this blog, how would it make you feel if those were your kids holding up the sign.  This is a reality we are going to have to face sooner than we may realize.

About heyamoose12

I am a Secondary Education major with a focus in English. I swim for the University of Maine and love to sketch and write on the side. I am a huge movie fan and love to go out with friends!
This entry was posted in #edt400. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Engage Me! I am falling asleep at my desk…

  1. Interested in reading some reply’s to this post from others in COEHD!

  2. Kelsi McHugh says:

    Wow, definitely a great video you have found! I would love to see that as a commercial or something because it got me thinking a lot, perhaps even for my next blog! Those were some scary numbers, like 61% of reading teachers never use digital storytelling software. I think a lot of the problem is that teacher’s are not staying refreshed. We are all life long learners, including teachers. I think as a future teacher, or future anything, it is my job to take classes to stay refreshed on things like technology. Technology is constantly developing, and I find that a lot of teacher’s fall behind because they get into a routine and don’t want to change. However, life is all about change, and learning new things. It’s sad that we still do things like projects on poster paper when we have thousands of other methods that utilize technology, and are engaging!

  3. I loved this video. It certainly makes us think about education. I, too, would like to see this as a commercial for parents to watch. I wish everyone would become more aware of how little we are utilizing technology in our schools. We all assume that children no more. I hope as new teachers enter the schools this disturbing trend will come to an end.

  4. heyamoose12 says:

    Kelsi, this comes from my most recent blog!

    “Learning happens in many different ways. Courses, emails, communities, conversations, web search, email lists, reading blogs, etc. Courses are not the primary conduit for learning” (2011).

    This stood out to me because of you line, “”It’s sad that we still do things like projects on poster paper when we have thousands of other methods that utilize technology, and are engaging!” There are so many ways to show learning that are now available that we are limited to a poster? Give me a computer and I will show possibilities!

Leave a Reply

