I will STOP texting…if you START teaching

Does this look familiar?

It was something said in class yesterday that really caught my attention…

Why are students texting so much during class?

The answer may not be that difficult to figure out.  If you want an answer, Youtube is not the place to start.  In my search for a video on reasons, I found an enormous amount of videos on HOW TO TEXT and HOW TO GET AWAY WITH IT.  Cleaver?

The classes that I don’t find myself texting in are the ones that hold my attention.  Ones where I am actually engaged in conversation.  The occasional text may come in trying to figure out a lunch time, but it is a minimal distraction.  There are some students that find themselves texting all the time, but what if it was because the text on the phone was more interesting that the lecture on the board?

There are shocking habits that teens will admit to in the classroom.  From an study at Wilkes University, two psychology professors found college students between the ages of 18-24 (notice this is not even involving high school students) sends 1,630 text per month.  That makes about three text an hour (assuming something really awesome or gossip-filled has not hit the air).  So how is this impacting classrooms?

 

This study covered more than 250 colleges.  The findings were very interesting.  Once a lot of the instructors saw the results, they were amazed.  They were actually “shocked.”  They knew texting was going on, but they had no idea to what extent.

 

95% bring their phone to class every day.

99% believe they should be allowed to.

91% admit to using it in class.

62% said they should be able to text during class as long as they do not disturb others.

25% claimed that texting is distracting to those nearby

75% say they have been distracted by a phone ringing in the middle of class.

10% said they have received texts during exams

3% said they have sent a text on exam information

The suggestions made with the results from this study were the most interesting.  The first was to make eye contact.  Stop spending so much time looking at the board.  The second one was the one that most involves us. “We can find what to engage with students and with technology, using text messaging as a way to field questions and discussion right in class” (2010).

The teacher below has…

About heyamoose12

I am a Secondary Education major with a focus in English. I swim for the University of Maine and love to sketch and write on the side. I am a huge movie fan and love to go out with friends!
This entry was posted in #edt400. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I will STOP texting…if you START teaching

  1. jennasem says:

    Linda, I LOVE this!!!! You truly do know how to write a good blog! I can very much relate to your view on texting during class–if it is interesting and I am involved in it, then I don’t feel the need or want to text! The percentages you gave were really eye-opening, I honestly did not even believe it when I saw it on your post until I read it myself (not that I didn’t believe you… it was just so shocking). I love the video you have posted, the teacher is probably one of the most creative teachers I have heard of! I would love to have her as my teacher, I think it’s such a unique offer. Thanks for sharing, you’re on the top of my netvibes! 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    I’m one of those people that like math and focus on statistics, so when I came across your blog I couldn’t believe what I was reading- I actually re-read the statistics, to make sure I comprehended them correctly. Those are unbelievable! The only thing I haven’t done on that list mentioned is send/receive a text during a test. I’m not really a risk taker on things like that. My teachers used to walk up and down the rows when we were taking tests- and while some students get a way with that, I was not that quick! I also couldn’t get over the astounding number of text messages sent in a month by college students, on average. 1,630 messages on average per month… WOW! I am not part of that statistic, but I can assure you my brother is!

    I look forward to reading more of your blogs! 🙂

  3. hgilman1023 says:

    I loved the statistics! I was also amazed at the percentages, and I too fall into those statistics about bringing my phone to class, texting during class, texting during an exam, et cetera. I find it quite interesting that some teachers are willing to bring texting into the classroom, because I think it’s a great idea! Nicely done (as usual!) 🙂

  4. An excellent post! I like how you have involved outside research on these topics and set up a precedent that would make most traditional educators blanch or raise the walls around mobiles even higher and then conclude with an example that is student centric and progressive. Thank you!

    We need more videos on using mobiles in learning. Any chance you might want to research further and post for a resource?

  5. shelbs236 says:

    This post was awesome! It is so unbelievable how much cell phones are used in education. I can deffiently relate to this because it is the truth, if a class isn’t exciting enough or your bored, why would you just want to sit there and pretend to listen? Maybe if the classes I took were interesting and fun to attend too I wouldn’t feel the need to text. This post was great though, I’m glad I stumbled upon it!

  6. lucycn8 says:

    I must say, you have really adapted well to blogging! Your posts are always so interesting and I love reading about all you’ve researched. The statistics do appear quite shocking, but when you look around your classrooms, you can tell the percentages are dead on. Students may show up to class, but technology consumes their attention. So, I love the way that that teacher incorporated technology into her classroom, because she noticed how much students do not pay attention to the lecture, but their phones. It is a very creative method, and most likely to engage the students better! Great post, can’t wait to catch up on some more!

Leave a Reply

