My friends are obese…So I am at risk too?

According to Nicholas Christakis and his speech on “The Hidden influence of social networks,” what we see around us influences how we act or what becomes of us.  He starts off by explaining it is like the “widower effect.”  If something happens to someone we love, then we start to change.

The thing that made this video stick out to me what that he started talking about the obesity epidemic.  If I am around people, according to him, that are obese, then I have a greater chance of become obese.  If I know someone who knows someone who is obese, then I still have a chance of becoming obese. It is all based on connections.

So how does social networks play into this? Let’s say we are all a dot.  If slowly we start making lines and connections between each dot, slowly will will have a spider web going on.  Slowly, more dots will become more popular with more lines and more people knowing that dot.

What if the queen of the dots was always posting pictures of herself dressed in revealing clothing?  This could influence the other dots.  This is something that the obesity comment was making.  Who we surround ourselves with and what our friends are doing affects us, whether we like it or not.  What if the most popular dot had pictures from a crazy weekend up.  Underage drinking is enough of a problem, but social networking sites have allowed for young people to boast about things that happen.  People can post a picture of a friend that pasted out with their shoes on and is now covered in sharpie to their facebook from a cell phone.

There are hidden influences from social networking sites that were pointed out in the film. It is just a matter if we are willing to look at the negative given all the positive.  I am sure that people out there can think of a negative hidden consequence of Facebook.  I know I can.

Who are your friends on Facebook?

About heyamoose12

I am a Secondary Education major with a focus in English. I swim for the University of Maine and love to sketch and write on the side. I am a huge movie fan and love to go out with friends!
This entry was posted in #edt400. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My friends are obese…So I am at risk too?

  1. lucycn8 says:

    The comment about obesity was extremely fascinating. I definitely understand his view on it. When your friends don’t want to go play tennis, they just want to eat junk food while watching a movie…day after day…your relationship with these people will take a negative toll on your body. Your mindset and body will adapt to these poor ways, and eventually not want to engage in physical activities and involve food more often throughout the day. This is just an example, though. There are many positive connections as well. If you are around people who invest large amounts of times in their studies, you too will find yourself doing homework or studying more often, etc.

    Overall, really interesting post!

  2. hgilman1023 says:

    I thought this was really interesting as well. Although I’ve never before thought of the idea of people in proximity having an affect on you, I totally agree with it. I loved your analogy with the dots, and the picture of the dots in the lines was a perfect description of what you were trying to say. Nicely done! Love it!

  3. lindsey7965 says:

    I also really enjoyed this. The part where you mentioned, “who we surround ourselves with and what our friends are doing, affect us.” I totally agree with that as well. If you surround yourself with people who sit on the couch all day and play video games mostly likely you would do the same and become obese. I don’t think it goes for everyone but for the majority of people. Not everyone gets the excercise they should and instead sit in front of the tv all day. Excellent post!

  4. Taylor says:

    I agree with this article and I also enjoyed reading it. I like when you stated that ‘Who we surround ourselves with and what our friends are doing affects us, whether we like it or not.’ I definitely think this is a true statement in society and not a lot of people like to admit to it. It is easy for people to be influenced!

  5. taygirouard15 says:

    I agree with this article and I also enjoyed reading it. I like when you stated that ‘Who we surround ourselves with and what our friends are doing affects us, whether we like it or not.’ I definitely think this is a true statement in society and not a lot of people like to admit to it. It is easy for people to be influenced!

Leave a Reply

