Can you see the possibilities?

Compliments of Flickr, I came across these photos of a school in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia. Back in 2007, they had a program where 20,000 lap tops were deployed to the schools.  What does the education in Mongolia have to do with us?  Well, with the current ranks we have in education, we need to start looking outside the country.

This may be from a program across the world four years ago, but how many of you had computers in your school this young?

The earliest that I can remember is going to the computer lab was in 4th grade.  I was ten years old (which looks double the age of the kids here) and starting to type.  I had computers in the home, but homework was never typed.  It was always handwritten.  Until fourth grade, I never really had to practice typing.

Computers allow for extending knowledge outside the classroom.  The typical classroom I feel like can be constraining sometimes for students.  I know I can at least remember classes in high school where I would just stare out the window because the outside world was holding my attention more than the facts on the board.

DOES THIS LOOK FAMILIAR? .

It is hard to teach an empty seat, or at least this is something that I remember my teachers always saying in high school.  I never heard them say anything about teaching a full classroom and still being ineffective as educators.

 

About heyamoose12

I am a Secondary Education major with a focus in English. I swim for the University of Maine and love to sketch and write on the side. I am a huge movie fan and love to go out with friends!
This entry was posted in #edt400. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can you see the possibilities?

  1. An especially rich reflection on your past tied into the realities of today, in Africa to say the least! Your closing quote at:

    “It is hard to teach an empty seat, or at least this is something that I remember my teachers always saying in high school. I never heard them say anything about teaching a full classroom and still being ineffective as educators.”

    is a solid and heartfelt voice for thousands of students around this country. Stunning.

    Fine work here.

  2. I really liked your topic. I like to see computers incorporated in early education. This is where we need to introduce teaching using technology. I love the photos!

Leave a Reply

